top of page
  • lorenjadeward92

Sourdough Discard Pasta

I read that things made from sourdough opposed to regular yeast have a lower glycemic index, so I've been trying to find ways to use my sourdough discard in everything. It allows me to live under the delusion that I can eat more carbs and it's "healthy". And so into pasta it goes.

I got this recipe from Pantry Mama and it turned out amazinggg. The texture was great and it didn't take long to whip up. I might add a smidge more starter next time because the pasta was a little dry. But the end result was amazing so do so at your own discretion.

Ingredients:

  • 100 grams sourdough discard

  • 250 grams bread or all purpose flour

  • 2 eggs



Pour flour onto clean surface and create a well in the center. Add eggs and sourdough discard to well. I suggest allowing your toddler to crack your eggs for you so you can have the added fun of fishing out the shells.


With a fork gently begin whisking the sourdough and eggs, slowly incorporating the flour.

Knead the pasta until it gets the consistency of play dough. This part takes a bit. I almost gave up but I thought of the condescending Italian man who gave us pasta making lessons in Italy, and kept kneading. So really muster all your American pride and knead that baby into play dough submission. Once the consistency is right, cover and let rest for 30 minutes or overnight.

Now roll and cut your pasta!


55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page