top of page
  • lorenjadeward92

Roasted Whole Chicken

I can remember the first time I made a whole bird. It was the first Thanksgiving away from home after moving to Seattle. I volunteered to bring a turkey to a church potluck. I have absolutely no idea what to do so I call my mom who informs me the first step is to remove the neck and gizzards that are stuffed inside it. Cute. So I put her on speaker phone and begin my invasive procedure. The second my hand touches the chicken I start gagging. haha.



So needless to say I've come a long way in the cooking chicken department. I still use tongs to remove anything inside, but hey, baby steps. Some things I love about cooking whole chicken are that you can save the bones for broth, (check out my broth recipe here), everything can cook in a dutch oven so there's minimal dishes, and the juices from the chicken cook the veggies underneath so preparing the meal is really easy!

Ingredients:

  • Whole chicken

  • 1 tablespoon rosemary

  • 1 tablespoon thyme

  • 3 garlic cloves

  • 1 teaspoon sea salt

  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil



First chop up your veggies for under your chicken! They will cook in the juices and be so garlicy and amazing. I like to mash mine and mix in some plain greek yogurt to make basically mashed potatoes. For this one I did potatoes, carrots, and onions.


Pat your chicken dry. Mix everything together and rub on the chicken! Lay on top of the veggies and roast until the internal temperature reaches 180 degrees.


Be sure to save your veggie scraps and chicken bones to make broth later!


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page