top of page
  • lorenjadeward92

Our Fixer Upper Farmhouse

Updated: Mar 29, 2022

This week was spent prepping our house to put on the market. Man, what a pain. I also am fighting a cold and started my period this week as well. So I've updated my will to request I just be buried in the new house for all the headache it's already been. Might as well make the most of it.

Haha but in all seriousness I am ecstatic! The inspection came back with lots of little things but nothing we can't handle ourselves! Soooo we are moving forward! To say this house is my dream house is no exaggeration. It's a great size for our family to grow into and host people, the kitchen is *sigh* beautiful, and it has two acres! So for all you people like me, who enjoy seeing other people's house renovation plans, this post is for you! Also, the fact that you even clicked on this and that I wrote it, really says something about our age am I right? Let's start with the kitchen because that's what I'm most excited about.

We want to move that fridge against the wall to open up the space between the dining and kitchen. Then we're debating adding a cut out from the kitchen into the living room. Although sometimes I doubt this. So we shall see.

Let me be clear, the mood board I've created is my dream kitchen that we will be working towards for many many many many many years. This is not what we are expecting to move in to. But the general ascetic is European cottage. Some of the elements I'd love are zellige tile, a statement arch over the oven, open shelving around the window, adding wood ceiling beams, and an old table as an island.

Can you feel the coziness already? I'm considering bleaching our cabinets, adding in a arched design, and changing the hardware. I always wanted painted cabinets but something about those bleached cabinets in the photo below feels a little more timeless for the kitchen I'm envisioning. I'm really wanting it to feel more dark and cozy than bright and airy.


Eventually I'd also love to add in a bigger window and frame it with the open shelves.


So that’s all folks! So excited to be dreaming of our forever kitchen where our babies will remember helping me mix cookies and making holiday meals. Feels so special to have a more permanent home.


I‘ll share the ideas we have for the other parts of the house in another post since I’m a little crunched for time and this is getting long anyways!



40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page